Le Mans: Many ex-Formula 1 drivers in the field

On Tuesday morning under skies heavy with rain clouds and dodging the showers, the 180 drivers competing in 2018 24 Hours of Le Mans, gathered together for the traditional group photo on the start/finish straight at the Sarthe circuit.

Fernando Alonso is the only active Formula 1 driver on the grid, however, he is joined by another 23 drivers who have competed at the highest level over the years:

Fernando Alonso, Olivier Beretta, Sébastien Bourdais, Gianmaria Bruni, Sébastien Buemi, Jenson Button, Paul Di Resta, Giancarlo Fisichella, Antonio Giovinazzi, Kamui Kobayashi, Jan Lammers, Pedro Lamy, André Lotterer, Jan Magnussen, Pastor Maldonado, Juan Pablo Montoya, Kazuki Nakajima, Felipe Nasr, Vitaly Petrov, Stéphane Sarrazin, Bruno Senna, Will Stevens, Giedo van der Garde and Jean-Eric Vergne.

With every driver present, the photocall happened in front of the new Rolex bridge ahead of the 86th running of the world’s most famous endurance racing on 16-17 June.

The start flag will be waved by tennis superstar Rafael Nadal, winner last weekend of the French Open at Roland Garros in Paris, and the guest of honour will be Hollywood star Michael Fassbender.

In 2015 Nico Hulkenberg, driving for Force India in Formula 1 at the time, won on his debut at the legendary venue sharing a Porsche 919 Hybrid with Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy