Hamilton voted Drivers’ Driver of the Year

Hot on the heels of being voted the top Formula 1 driver by Formula 1 team bosses, five-time Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton has also been chosen as the Drivers’ Driver of the Year as voted by his peers.

Formula 1 polled 17 of 20 drivers who agreed to vote, included: Fernando Alonso, Marcus Ericsson, Pierre Gasly, Romain Grosjean, Brendon Hartley, Charles Leclerc, Kevin Magnussen, Esteban Ocon, Sergio Perez, Kimi Raikkonen, Daniel Ricciardo, Carlos Sainz, Marcus Ericsson, Lance Stroll, Stoffel Vandoorne, Max Verstappen, Sebastian Vettel.

Those who did not participate were Lewis Hamilton, Valtteri Bottas and Nico Hulkenberg.

The website explained: “Points were handed out based on F1’s current points system, with the top driver on each list earning 25 points down to one point for the driver in 10th. The lists were then combined to create an overall top 10 and there was one name who dominated the top of the charts.”

On the road to his fifth F1 world title, Mercedes driver Hamilton claimed 17 podiums, 11 of them victories and 11 poles, while helping Mercedes to their fifth constructors’ title in a row.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen was second, ahead of departing Fernando Alonso in third who impressed his colleagues despite driving the second-rate McLaren, Sebastian Vettel was fourth and Daniel Ricciardo fifth.

Stand-out rookie Charles Leclerc clearly impressed his rivals who voted him the sixth best on the grid ahead of Pierre Gasly.

Esteban Ocon, Carlos Sainz and Valtteri Bottas were conspicuous by their absence in the top ten drivers on the grid as voted by their colleagues.