ferrari le mans winners photo

Le Mans 24 Hours: Ferrari fend off Toyota, Porsche and Cadillac

ferrari le mans winners photo

The Ferrari factory Hypercar team won the 92nd edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the second year in a row after a tight and tense battle with Toyota right to the finish, on Sunday in France,

Almost out of fuel, Denmark’s Nicklas Nielsen took the chequered flag at the wheel of the #50 Ferrari 499P hypercar shared with Italian Antonio Fuoco and Spaniard Miguel Molina over 311 laps of the Sarthe circuit.

The #7 Toyota GR010 hybrid of Argentine Jose Maria Lopez, Japan’s Kamui Kobayashi and Dutch driver Nyck de Vries finished 14.221s behind in P2. The latter pair were the best-placed drivers with F1 experience.


The winning crew from last year – Italians Alessandro Pier Guidi, Antonio Giovinazzi and Britain’s James Calado – finished P3 in the #51 Ferrari. Last year’s win was the Italian marque’s first overall victory at the French circuit in 58 years.

Nine Hypercars on the same lap when the flag fell after a gruelling 24 Hours

Nielsen drove a heroic and quite brilliant final triple stint in the #50 Ferrari, surviving an issue with his door and an investigation for an unsafe pit stop release. In hugely treacherous conditions in the final hours of the race, the

The Ferrari driver was able to forge to the front and is able to gain a gap over the chasing pack which was bunched up after morning safety cars for poor weather and accidents

Toyota with the #7 GR010 Hybrid Hypercar were P2 as super-sub Jose-Maria Lopez chased Nielsen in the final exchanges but was just unable to close the gap. Lopez had a brief spin in his attempts but was still able to split the factory Ferrari 499P.

A race of high attrition and packed with incidents

In the penultimate hour of the attrition-packed race, Pier Guidi made contact with the #8 Toyota GR010 at Mulsanne Corner, driven by Brendon Hartley. The Ferrari driver received a 5-second penalty for the contact

But the Italian was also targeted by the chasing #6 Porsche driven by Laurens Vanthoor in the final 20-minutes but was able to just hold off the flying Belgian who has to accept fourth place

Those points, however, are enough for Vanthoor, plus teammates Kevin Estre and Andre Lotterer to keep their WEC Hypercar championship points lead and keep their 100% podium record in 2024

Completing the top six in Hypercar is 5th #8 Toyota and 6th #5 Porsche Penske 963; 7th #2 Cadillac; 8th #12 Hertz Team Jota; 9th #38 Hertz Team Jota; 10th #63 Lamborghini Iron Lynx

Hertz Team JOTA take a 1-2 in the FIA World Cup for Hypercar Teams ahead of the other Porsche customer team Proton Competition Peugeot TotalEnergies place 11th and 12th overall with #94 9X8 heading the #93 car.

LMGT3: Manthey EMA Porsche take top honours

Manthey EMA is the first team to taste victory in LMGT3 at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Manthey EMA Porsche 911 RSR 911 LMGT3 of Morris Schuring, Yasser Shahin and Richard Lietz triumph and become the first trio to ever win an LMGT3 category race at Le Mans. Schuring also became the youngest-ever category winner at 19 years of age!

They follow up their Spa success last month after a faultless display which saw a smooth run throughout the entire 24 hours

Lietz, the most experienced driver among the 186 drivers present at Le Mans with 18 previous starts, crosses the finish line ahead of the #31 Team WRT BMW of Darren Leung, Augusto Farfus and Sean Gelael

Completing the podium at Le Mans is the #88 Proton Competition Ford Mustang LMGT3 entry driven by Dennis Olsen, Giorgio Roda and Mikkel Pedersen. They take the first ever podium position for a Mustang at La Sarthe.

Rounding out the top six in LMGT3 is 4th #44 Proton Ford Mustang; 5th #85 Iron Dames Lamborghini; 6th #55 VISTA AF Corse Ferrari

Heartbreak for the GR Racing Ferrari 296 LMGT3 of Daniel Serra, Riccardo Pera and Michael Wainwright as the car stops at pit exit with just 33 minutes remaining. They had been placed sixth at the time.

LMP2: #22 United Autosports take top honours

Le Mans United Autosports team's last victory was in 2020.

Open and unpredictable, the LMP2 one make (Oreca-Gibson) category was once again lively, with several teams playing a role throughout the 24 hours. At the start, it was Hyperpoleman Louis Delétraz on his Oreca 07-Gibson #14 from AO by TF who showed up.

But, over the course of his teammates’ relays and depending on the strategies of the other teams, the hierarchy changes. The #10 Vector Sport (Ryan Cullen/Patrick Pilet/Stéphane Richelmi) and the #183 AF Corse (François Perrodo/Ben Barnicoat/Nicolas Varrone) are at the forefront.

Already happy and victorious in Sarthe, Ben Keating had a complicated first stint and went out several times. Associated with Filipe Albuquerque and Ben Hanley, he makes up a very prominent crew.

On Sunday, it was the Inter Europol Competition (with #34) and Cool Racing (with #37) teams that stood out. But on the checkerboard, and for the first time since 2020, # 22 United Autosports of Oliver Jarvis, Bijoy Garg and Nolan Siegel took top honours.

2024 Le Mans 24 Hours How they finished:

Hypercar Class

2024 Le Mans Hyepr cars results

LMP2 Class Results

provisional resulst lmp2 2024

LMGT3 Class Results

provisional resulst lmgt3 2024-001