German Formula 1 driver Michael Schumacher of Scuderia Ferrari F1 team greets the spectators with Brazilian flag before the F1 Grand Prix of Brazil at the racetrack in Interlagos near Sao Paulo, Brazil, Sunday 22 October 2006. GERO BRELOER |

Michael Schumacher still the F1 King of Interlagos

Michael Schumacher still the King of Interlagos

With Interlagos hosting its 40th Grand Prix in Brazil this weekend, Torcedores published a study that confirms that Formula 1 legend Michael Schumacher is the King of Interlagos, with Lewis Hamilton the first Prince of Sao Paulo.

The analysis showed the top points scorers at Interlagos (adjusted as per today’s scoring system) with Ferrari icon, Schumacher on top with 249 points. Hamilton is second in the all-time leaderboard with 193 points. Current F1 world champion Max Verstappen rounds up the top 10 with 97 points.

The following methodology was used to analyse the results and assign points:

  • We scraped the results of 39 Brazilian GPs held at Interlagos from 1973 to present
  • As F1’s scoring systems have changed over the years, for uniformity, we assigned points as per the current scoring system to all 39 races and 220 drivers
  • That means that in races where for example, only the top six scored points, we gave points to the top 10 finishers as per the current scoring system
  • After assigning points to all drivers based on their results, we generated the leaderboard

The study concludes that Schumacher leads the way at Interlagos with 249 points from 18 races, ahead of Hamilton is second with 193 points in the 15 times he lined up on the grid in Brazil.

Schumi won twice with Benetton in 1994 and 1995 and twice with Ferrari in 2000 and 2002. Lewis has won the race in Sao Paulo thrice, in 2016, 2018 and 2021, all as a Mercedes driver.

Verstappen tops the points-per-race scored at the Grand Prix in Sao Paulo

SAO PAULO, BRAZIL - NOVEMBER 17: Top three finishers Max Verstappen of Netherlands and Red Bull Racing, Pierre Gasly of France and Scuderia Toro Rosso and Lewis Hamilton of Great Britain and Mercedes GP celebrate on the podium during the F1 Grand Prix of Brazil at Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace on November 17, 2019 in Sao Paulo, Brazil. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images) // Getty Images / Red Bull Content Pool // AP-227DM8Q1W2111 // Usage for editorial use only //

Interlagos is where Hamilton claimed his first F1 World title, triumphing on the last lap of a dramatic 2008 season finale that famously denied Ferrari driver (at the time) Felipe Massa the 2008 F1 World title; a fact he now contests.

Reigning F1 World Champion and pole-sitter for today’s Sao Paulo Grand Prix, Max Verstappen has the best points-per-race figure (13.86) for drivers with more than one race at the iconic venue.

Massa is the highest-ranked Brazilian (7th) with 125 points, Emerson Fittipaldi and Ayrton Senna have each enjoyed two wins on home soil. But with four victories at Interlagos to his name, F1 legend Schumacher leads the way followed by Hamilton and retired Sebastian Vettel with three each.

Max Verstappen can match the Interlagos two wins tally of Massa, Emerson Fittipaldi and Ayrton Senna if the Red Bull driver scores the win today.

Interlagos victory to starts ratio graphic-Torcedores

Other interesting findings include:

  • Rene Arnoux has the best win percentage (50%) of all drivers, winning once in two races at Interlago;
  • Senna and Juan Pablo Montoya are second with a 40% win rate;
  • Senna has the best podium percentage of 60% at Interlagos for drivers with more than one race;
  • Only 16 pole-sitters have won at Interlagos which is a pole-to-win rate of 41.02%
  • Pole-to-win conversion Nico Rosberg won two GPs from two P1 starts;
  • Emerson Fittipaldi, Jacques Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Nigel Mansell and Max Verstappen all won one from one top spot start

Interlagos All-Time Leaderboard

DriverPointsRacesPoints per race
Michael Schumacher2491813.83333333
Lewis Hamilton1931512.86666667
Fernando Alonso179199.421052632
Kimi Räikkönen1741710.23529412
Sebastian Vettel1701511.33333333
Jenson Button128177.529411765
Felipe Massa125148.928571429
Nico Rosberg105119.545454545
Mark Webber102128.5
Max Verstappen97713.85714286

The entire research piece can be accessed on Torcedores. and you can access the raw data in this sheet.