f1-senna-prost-1988 f1 archives

Red Bull set to equal McLaren record 11 F1 wins in a row

f1-senna-prost-1988 f1 archives

Reigning World Champions Red Bull can equal McLaren’s 35-year-old Formula 1 record of 11 wins in a row should they win the 2023 British Grand Prix and once again Max Verstappen is set to be the man of the moment.

The runaway 2023 F1 championship leader is chasing his sixth successive win, and eighth in 10 races, and it can all happen on Sunday at Silverstone. With a lead of 81 points over teammate Sergio Perez, the equivalent of more than three races, a third F1 title for the Dutch 25-year-old looks inevitable.

In Austria last weekend he had enough of a lead to pit at the end for fresh tyres to seize fastest lap, telling reporters he had enjoyed reading about how Red Bull’s rivals were closing the gap.


McLaren won 11 successive races in 1988 with Brazilian Ayrton Senna and Frenchman Alain Prost a streak from Brazilian GP until Belgian GP that year. Red Bull have won all nine so far this year after the 2022 Abu Dhabi season-ender – the first time they have won 10 in a row.

Although Ferrari effectively won 14 in succession in 1952-53, the Indianapolis 500 which they did not enter was counted as a round of the F1 championship.

No Red Bull victory at Silverstone since Mark Webber back in 2012

2010 British Grand Prix: Formula 1 Race Winner & silverstone f1 preview

“Silverstone next weekend is going to be epic … but who knows what obstacles there could be,” Red Bull boss Christian Horner told Sky Sports television. “We saw what happened there last year (Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz won), it’s a race we haven’t won since I think Mark  back in 2012, so that’s a big race for us on this calendar.”

Rivals will be ready to pounce if anything goes wrong, even if Verstappen has won 16 of the last 20 races. Ferrari marks the one-year anniversary on Monday of their last success – Charles Leclerc in Austria a week after Sainz at Silverstone.

After finishing second in Austria, Leclerc said: “I’m already looking forward to Silverstone. It’s a very different track and the team has done an incredible job.”

Lewis Hamilton holds the record of eight British Grand Prix wins, and will have the crowd behind him, as Mercedes regroup after their seven-times world champion finished eighth in Austria with George Russell seventh.

“We have taken the result on the chin and will aim to recapture the momentum we had built up across previous races,” said team boss Toto Wolff. “With the next upgrades and experiments coming in Silverstone, there are reasons for optimism.”

Silverstone is the home race for the majority of F1 teams

British_GP_Silverstone_ silverstone f1 preview Paddock F1

McLaren’s Lando Norris could be best of the British drivers for the second race in a row after finishing fourth in Austria with an upgraded car.

Aston Martin are the most local of the seven British-based teams, with a new factory over the road, and Fernando Alonso and Lance Stroll will be keen to reclaim second place overall from Mercedes.

Only three points now separate the two after Austria’s results were revised following a slew of track limits violations.

Pirelli are bringing a new slick tyre construction using materials that had been due to be introduced next year, motorsport director Mario Isola revealed: “This change in specification was made necessary due to the increased performance of the cars seen since the start of the season, both in terms of outright speed and loadings.”

Security at Silverstone has been increased after ‘Just Stop Oil’ protesters ran onto the track after an opening lap crash at last year’s race.

“I hope people are smart enough not to do it. There are much safer ways to get just as much attention,” said Norris when asked about another possible track invasion by protestors. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin)


British Grand Prix Stats & Info by Reuters

  • Race 10 of of the 22-round 2023 Formula 1 World Championship season
  • Lap distance: 5.891km. Total distance: 306.198km (52 laps)
  • 2022 pole position: Carlos Sainz (Spain) Ferrari one minute 40.983 seconds.
  • 2022 race winner: Sainz
  • Race lap record: Max Verstappen (Netherlands), Red Bull, 2020: One minute, 27.097 seconds.
  • Start time: 1400 GMT (1500 local)
  • Sunday’s race will be the 74th British Grand Prix.
  • Lewis Hamilton has won the British Grand Prix a record eight times.
    He shares the F1 record with Michael Schumacher (eight at the French Grand Prix).
  • He has also been on pole seven times at Silverstone and on the podium 12 times.
    No driver has been on the podium more at a home race.
  • Mercedes have won eight of the last 10 British Grands Prix.
  • Every winner has started from fourth or higher since 2000.
  • Three current drivers have won the British Grand Prix at Silverstone:
    Hamilton (2008, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021),
    Fernando Alonso (2006, 2011) and Sainz (2022).
  • Verstappen won the 70th anniversary race at the circuit in 2020,
    the first time Silverstone hosted two races in a single season.
  • The British Grand Prix, with Italy, is one of two ever-present races on the calendar since 1950.
    This year’s race will be the 57th British GP at Silverstone.
  • Ferrari have won the British GP 18 times.

2023 F1 Championship Points after Round 9

2023 F1 world championship standings after austrian GP silverstone f1 preview

Wins, Podiums, Pole Position & Fastest Laps

  • Verstappen now has 42 wins from 172 starts.
    One more than the career haul of Brazil’s late triple world champion Ayrton Senna.
    And is fifth on the all-time list. Alain Prost, with 51, is next in his sights.
  • Red Bull have won all nine races so far this season (Verstappen seven) and four one-twos.
  • Hamilton has a record 103 career victories from 319 starts
    but has not won since Saudi Arabia in December 2021.
  • Aston Martin’s Alonso has 32 wins, most recently in his home Spanish Grand Prix in 2013
    with Ferrari, from a record 364 starts.
  • If Ferrari do not win, they will have gone a year since their last success in Austria on July 10, 2022.
  • Five teams and seven drivers have made a podium appearance this season
    Red Bull, Alpine, Aston Martin, Mercedes and Ferrari.
    Verstappen has yet to finish outside the top two.
  • Leclerc’s second place at Spielberg’s Red Bull Ring last Sunday was
    Ferrari’s 800th podium finish in Formula One.
  • Hamilton has a record 103 career poles.
  • Red Bull have been on pole in eight of the season’s races,
    with Leclerc taking the top slot in Azerbaijan.
    Verstappen has six poles for 2023 and the last four in a row.
  • Five different drivers have taken fastest laps this season:
    Alfa Romeo’s Guanyu Zhou, Verstappen (4), Perez (2) and Mercedes’ George Russell and Hamilton.


  • Red Bull hunt their 11th win in a row to equal McLaren’s record set in 1988 with Senna and Prost.