formula one Estoril, Portugal. 18-20 September 1987. Nigel Mansell (Williams FW11B Honda) leads Gerhard Berger (Ferrari F187) Ayrton Senna (Lotus 99T Honda), Nelson Piquet (Williams FW11B Honda) and Alain Prost (McLaren MP4/3 TAG Porsche) at the start, action. World Copyright: LAT Photographic Ref:87 POR 09.

A Brief History of Formula One

formula one Estoril, Portugal. 18-20 September 1987. Nigel Mansell (Williams FW11B Honda) leads Gerhard Berger (Ferrari F187) Ayrton Senna (Lotus 99T Honda), Nelson Piquet (Williams FW11B Honda) and Alain Prost (McLaren MP4/3 TAG Porsche) at the start, action. World Copyright: LAT Photographic Ref:87 POR 09.

Formula One, also known as F1, is a motor racing sport. Motor racing sports are said to be one of the most recent sports to be invented since they only came to existence after the invention of the first series of gasoline-fueled internal-combustion engine automobiles around the 1880s.

However, the first automobile competition did not occur until the early 1890s in Paris, France.

Although Formula One has not been around for too long compared to other sports like football, it remains one of the most popular motorsports, perhaps one of the highest-level international races for open-wheel racing vehicles. The Formula One World Championship, formerly known as the World Drivers’ Championship, has been a significant pacesetter in automobile racing worldwide.

Origin of Formula One

The first edition of the modern F1 took place in 1946, and the sport is said to have originated from the European Grand Prix championships in the 1920s and 1930s.

The term ‘Formula’ stands for the various sets of regulations and standards that must be met by all the cars competing in the formula one competition.

Since the first edition of the F1 World Championship, the FIA, which is the body that governs all motorsports, has implemented several modifications to the initial pre-World War II regulations.

The goal of the initial rules was to bring about a sort of balance between supercharged and regularly aspirated automobiles.

However, some more recent modifications to the regulations specify particular dimensions and weight limitations for Formula One automobiles.

Traditionally, a Formula One vehicle must only have four wheels, and there must be minimal distances between these wheels and the rear and front bodywork.

grid girls flags formula one

What is the Formula 1 World Championship?

A Formula One season usually consists of a series of races known as Grands Prix. The races typically take place on circuits built explicitly for this purpose or on closed public roads across 20 countries.

Even though Formula One has been around for quite a while, India did not host the Grand Prix until about 2011, owing partly to the lack of appropriate structures such as a race circuit.

However, a certain Indian licensed team known as the force India situated in the UK had been taking part in the Grand Prix since 2007.

Generally, Formula one is not as popular as other fan-favourite sports like cricket and football in India. In fact, the Indian Grand Prix has ceased to occur since 2013.

However, punters in the country still take a massive interest in betting on the championship and Grands Prix. You can visit to explore some of the top sporting events that are held in India.

Formula One competition history

Giuseppe Farina won the first formula one World Championship race, narrowly defeating his teammate Juan Manuel Fangio to win the title.

However, Fangio later won the title five times in the 1950s, winning four of them consecutively – a record that stood for more than four decades before it was broken by Michael Schumacher, who won the sixth championship in 2003.

Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton went on to set the record for most world championship wins – winning the title on seven occasions.

Although the United Kingdom’s Stirling Moss was at the forefront of the sport, regularly participating between 1955 and 1961.

Though he could not win the world title, he finished as a runner up on four occasions and third three times. He was widely recognised as the finest driver who never won a world championship.

As of the previously concluded 2021 season, 34 Formula One drivers have won the world championship out of the 770 drivers participating in the Grand Prix, with Max Verstappen currently holding the title. It is also worthy of note that drivers from the UK have won the highest number of championships.

JEDDAH, SAUDI ARABIA - MARCH 27: Sergio Perez of Mexico and Red Bull Racing leads into the first corner during the F1 Grand Prix of Saudi Arabia at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit on March 27, 2022 in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. (Photo by Peter Fox/Getty Images)

Technological Advancements

Since Formula One’s debut in 1950, F1 vehicles have seen a series of evolution technology-wise. The first major technological development was the introduction of mid-car engines that won the 1959, 1960 and 1966 editions of the world championship in the hands of Jack Brabham.

This caused other competitors in the tournament to also switch to mid-engined cars.

Aluminium-sheet monocoque chassis was introduced, later replacing the conventional space-frame design. These modifications proved to be a tremendous technological breakthrough since the advent of the mid-engine cars.

However, at a much later period, Aerodynamic downforce gained importance slowly in car design. This innovation during the late 1970s provided enormous downforce and significantly increased cornering speeds of racing cars.


Formula One is one of the most popular and highest car racing in motorsport, and over the years, the sport has continually evolved and is still growing at a fast pace. Don’t forget to visit Parimatch for an exciting betting experience.