2020 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix

F1 reveals entry fees for 2021 season

2020 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix

Formula 1 has revealed the entry fees teams will have to pay to race in the 2021 season, with champions Mercedes unsurprisingly at the top of the list.

A system that sees F1 teams required to make a payment to the sport’s governing body, the FIA, in order to race next season, teams are required to make the payment based on the amount of points in the preceding season.

Under the rules, all teams must pay a base entry fee of $556,509, with an extra $5,563 for each world championship point they scored.

However, the constructors’ champions must pay an additional $6,677 for each point scored, meaning Mercedes’ bill is substantially larger than any other team’s.

As a result, Mercedes will pay $4,382,430 for the privilege of defending their title, although it’s worth noting that the loss of races due to the COVID-19 pandemic means there were less points on offer for 2020, and thus even Mercedes got a discount compared to the fee they had to pay this past season.

The full list of entry fees can be found below:

[table id=16 /]