Why we need the South African Grand Prix back ASAP!

The first South African Grand Prix took place on 29 December 1962 in East London, the last one held on 14 March 1993 at Kyalami on the outskirts of Johannesburg.

Altogether the Formula 1 World Championship visited the country on 23 occasions, with some of the greatest names winning there including the likes of Alain Prost, Mario Andretti, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, Graham Hill, Gilles Villeneuve to name some.

The prospect of it returning prompted this original Toto ballad by Josh Revell calling for a return of Formula 1 to Africa, with Kyalami among the possible candidates. The song alone is worth this post.


Past South African Grand Prix winners: