Today in Racing: 3 June

There were four grands prix over the years on 3 June…  Peter Collins and Paul Frère’s Ferraris held Stirling Moss’ Maserati off to win a damp 1956 Belgian Grand Prix – Moss had taken over Cesare Perdisa’s car before charging back to third.

The other three races were all in Monaco, starting with Bruce McLaren’s Cooper-Climax (above) holding Phil Hill and Lorenzo Bandini’s Ferraris to win in 1962.

Jackie Stewart’s Tyrrell 006 Cosworth led every lap to take his third and final Monaco win from Lotus 72 Cosworth teammates Emerson Fittipaldi and Ronnie Peterson on a newly revised track in 1973 as he equaled compatriot Jim Clark’s record 25 Grand Prix victories.

Alain Prost benefited the 1984 Grand Prix run in heavy rain being shortened to 31 laps as to take his first of four Monaco wins off pole position in his McLaren-TAG Porsche MP4/2. Second-placed rookie Ayrton Senna’s Toleman-Hart had scythed through the field and was bearing down on Prost when the chequered flag flew. René Arnoux was third for Ferrari.

Elsewhere in racing, Alfred Levegh, drove a Mors to win the 1908 Bordeaux road race, ten years before Marcel Lehoux won the ‘28 Tunis Grand Prix Bugatti T35C. In 1934, Manfred von Brauchitsch won the Nürburgring Eifelrennen in a Mercedes-Benz W25 and Carlo Felice Trossi the Montreux Grand Prix in an Alfa Romeo B/P3, while Bernard Chaudé’s Bugatti took the ‘36 Montlhéry Indépendants Trophy.

Stirling Moss won the ‘61 Brands Hatch Silver City Trophy in a Lotus 18 Climax on the same day that Syd van der Vyver took the South African F1 Rand Trophy at Grand Central in his Lotus 18 Alfa Romeo.

Still in South Africa, Dave Charlton won the ‘72 Kyalami Republic Day Trophy in his Lotus 72D Cosworth, while Indy racing winners on this day included Tom Sneva, Paul Tracy, Al Unser, Jr, Kenny Brack, Tony Kanaan Scott Dixon, Graham Rahal and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

In World rallying, there have been five Acropolis rallies on 3 June – Bjorn Waldegard won in 1977 driving a Ford Escort RS1800, lady legend Michele Mouton’s Audi Quattro won in ’82, Markku Alen’s Lancia Delta HF ’87, Didier Auriol in a Lancia Delta HF Integrale in ‘92 and Marcus Gronholm ‘07 in a Ford Focus RS. Colin McRae also drove a Ford Focus RS to win in Cyprus 2001.

On the day that Champ Car legend Fred Frame, occasional F1 racer Jean-Pierre Jaussaud and NASCAR star Jamie McMurray were born, sportscar racer Erwin Bauer (45) died after his Ferrari crashed on the slow-down lap at the Nürburgring in 1958. Bauer had not noticed the chequered flag and kept on racing.