Today in Racing: 14 May

Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain. Sunday 14 May 2017. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes F1 W08 EQ Power+, celebrates after he climbs from his car after winning the race. World Copyright: Glenn Dunbar/LAT Images ref: Digital Image _31I6220

Stirling Moss pulled off another unlikely Monaco Grand Prix win when he steered his Lotus Climax to the first ever 1500cc Formula 1 win over Ferrari aces Richie Ginther and Phil Hill.

Eleven years later it was Jean-Pierre Beltoise’s chance to pull off a surprise Monaco Grand Prix win in 1972 as he beat Jacky Ickx’s Ferrari and Emerson Fittipaldi’s Lotus to his only and BRM’s final F1 victory in a sodden race.

Michael Schumacher led teammate Johnny Herbert to a Benetton-Renault 1-2 over Gerhard Berger’s Ferrari in the ’95 Spanish Grand Prix, after which Nigel Mansell quit the McLaren team and F1. Also in Spain, Fernando Alonso beat Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher and his Renault teammate Giancarlo Fisichella to the 2006 win, where Lewis Hamilton’s Mercedes also defeated Sebastian Vettel’s Ferrari and Daniel Ricciardo in a Red Bull in 2017

A year before F1, Emmanuel de Graffenried’s Maserati 4CLT won the ‘49 British Grand Prix and in non-championship action, F1 rookie Giancarlo Baghetti won his second race in a row off just two starts in a Ferrari 156 at the 1961 Naples Grand Prix.

Froilan Gonzalez’ Ferrari 625 and Jack Brabham’s Brabham BT19 Repco won the respective 1954 and ’66 Silverstone International Trophy races, Dave Charlton’s Lotus 72D Cosworth the 1972 SA F1 Championship Bulawayo 100 and Michael Andretti the 2000 Japan Indy 500.

In sportscar action, Ernesto Ceirano’s SCAT won the 1911 Targa Florio, 56 years before Paul Hawkins and Rolf Stommelen did the same in a Porsche 906 in ‘67, while Nino Vaccarella and Toine Hezemans won in ’71 in an Alfa Romeo T33/3.

Jacky Ickx and Jochen Mass’ Porsche 935 won the ‘78 Silverstone 6-hour, the same day that Alan Jones’s Lola T333CS-Chevrolet took the 78 Road Atlanta Can Am, while Jean-Christophe Boullion and Emmanuel Collard Pescarolo won the 2006 Spa 1000. Off track, Richard Burns’ Subaru Impreza won the 2000 World Rally Argentina.

In other news, pole man Tom Sneva broke the 200-mph Indianapolis lap speed record in qualifying for the 1977 500.

In yet another sad racing day in May, Gordon Smiley died following a crash in qualifying for the 1982 Indy 500 aged 36. Formula 1 star and its ‘last gentleman’, Elio de Angelis died following a testing crash at Paul Ricard in France aged 28 on this day 1986.