Today in Racing: 9 May

There were four grands prix on this day, one in Belgium and three in Spain.

John Watson set the fastest lap as came from 12th on the grid to win a tragic 1982 Belgian Grand Prix of from Keke Rosberg’s Williams and Eddie Cheever, who rose from a lowly 16th on the grid to complete the podium. Ferrari did not race, withdrawing Didier Pironi’s entry out of respect for Gilles Villeneuve who perished in qualifying the previous day.


Alain Prost won the 1993 Spanish Grand Prix for Williams Renault from Ayrton Senna’s McLaren and Michael Schumacher who set the fastest lap on his way to third for Benetton. Schumacher put his Ferrari F2004 on top of the 2004 Barcelona podium from teammate Rubens Barrichello and Jarno Trulli’s Renault in a race perhaps better remembered for a fellow by the name of Jimmy Jump invading the grid before being apprehended. Mark Webber won the 2010 race from Sebastian Vettel in a Red Bull Renault 1-2 from Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren Mercedes

Looking further back, Hermann Lang won a 1937 Tripoli Grand Prix tyre war for Mercedes over four Auto Unions. Post-War the 1949 the Monaco Grand Prix was cancelled after Prince Louis II died, while Mike Hawthorn the ‘53 Silverstone International Trophy in a Ferrari 500, Jose Froilan Gonzalez the ‘54 Bordeaux Grand Prix de in a Ferrari 625 and Ivo Hange’s Hange GAZ21 Special the ’67 Russian Gonki na Priz Leningrad. More recently, Sebastien Buemi won the 2015 Monte Carlo ePrix and Will Power that year’s 15 Indy Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

In sportscar racing, Lorenzo Bandini and Nino Vaccarella’s Ferrari 275P wtook the 1965 Targa Florio, Pedro Rodriguez and Jackie Oliver’s Porsche 917 the ‘71 Spa 1000, John Fitzpatrick and Tom Walkinshaw’s BMW 3.5 CSL the ‘76 Silverstone 6-hour and Johnny Herbert and Jamie Davies Audi R8 the 2004 Monza 6 hour.

World rallying on this day saw three Tour de Corses wrapped up as Bernard Beguin took the 1987 win in a BMW M3, Didier Auriol’s Lancia Delta HF Integrale in ’90 and Philippe Bugalski’s Citroen Xsara in ’99, while Jari-Matti Latvala’s Ford Focus RS wion the 2010 Rally New Zealand

On the day that Aussie star Shane van Gisbergen was born, a significant event on this day in 1876 saw 14 years of research and development come good for Nikolaus Otto, who succeeded in making an internal combustion engine run for the first time…