2020 Formula 1 22-race calendar taking shape


The 2020 Formula 1 World Championship calendar is finally taking shape – until mere hours ago, it was not even clear if there would be 21 or 22 races next year, as negotiations about a reduction in winter testing or an additional engine allocation for 2020 were taking place.

But a 22-race calendar now seems certain, with Liberty Media announcing that a one-year reprieve for the Spanish GP at Barcelona has been agreed.

“The decision is part of our strategy of maintaining Formula 1’s European roots, while also currently expanding the championship into new territories,” said F1 CEO Chase Carey.

However, it is bad news for Hockenheim’s German GP. The ‘new territories’ mentioned by Carey are the Netherlands and Vietnam, which together with Barcelona bring the 2020 schedule up to an unprecedented 22 races.

Until now, uncertainty about the precise dates for next year’s races remained.

Robert van Overdijk, the Zandvoort circuit boss, told Dutch media on Tuesday: “I am not going to announce a definitive date right now.

“With the Barcelona news it is now clear that there are at least 22 races on the calendar. The rest of the puzzle will be completed quickly,” he said.

Van Overdijk, though, denied that the Dutch GP might be in August, revealing that it will in fact be “in May”.

That was confirmed by a report at Speed Week, which puts Zandvoort down for a May 3 race date. The German publication is the first to publish a full provisional 2020 calendar. It was already known that Melbourne will kick off the season on March 15.

“The date confirmation provides the opportunity for interstate and overseas visitors to plan a lengthy stay,” said Australian Grand Prix boss Andrew Westacott.

The Speed Week calendar then shows that the next race, in Bahrain, will take place the following weekend, followed by Vietnam after a two week break.

Further back-to-back races will take place in May (Zandvoort/Barcelona) and June (Azerbaijan/Montreal), with France and Austria also taking place within a week.

The August break remains in place for 2020, after which a further three back-back sequences will litter the second half of next year’s world championship.

The season will end in Abu Dhabi on November 29.

Provisional 2020 F1 Race Dates
1Melbourne15 March
2Bahrain International CircuitTBC March
3HanoiTBC April
4ShanghaiTBC April
5Zandvoort3 May
6Circuit de Catalunya10 May
7Monte-Carlo24 May
8Circuit Gilles Villeneuve7 June
9Baku14 June
10Paul Ricard28 June
11Red Bull Ring5 July
12Silverstone19 July
13Budapest2 August
14Spa-Francorchamps30 August
15Monza6 September
16Singapore20 September
17Sochi Autodrom27 September
18Suzuka11 October
19Circuit of the AmericasTBC Oct
20Autodromo Hermanos RodriguezTBC Nov
21Interlagos15 November
22Yas Marina Circuit29 November