Ready for the 87th episode of the Le Mans 24-Hour!

All is set and ready for the 87th running of the fabled Le Mans 24-Hour race, the final leg of the SuperSeason World Endurance Championship which gets underway this afternoon, apart from being the last race of its kind for the current prototype formula, the race could also see Formula 1 World Champion Fernando Alonso adding the WEC title to his CV.

This year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans doubles up as the final of the FIA World Endurance Championship 2018-19 Super Season and judging by the crowds in the pit lane on Thursday, there will be a huge turnout for the start of the race at 15:00 CET.

Hypercars are already confirmed for 2020 and beyond with Toyota and Aston Martin are already gearing up for the 2020-2021 season, preparing hypercars for the new top tier.

Meanwhile today, three-time winner of Le Mans Hurley Haywood will be fulfilling the role of Grand Marshal, leading the formation lap before H.S.H. Charlene, Princess of Monaco waves the French flag to signal the start of the race at 15:00. There is one change to the previously announced starting grid: the TDS Racing #29 Oreca 07-Gibson takes first place in the LMP2 field.

From 09:00 to 09:45, the cars and drivers have one last chance to run through their preparations. Warm-up is the ideal opportunity to attend to last-minute details and adjust to the day’s weather conditions.

Saturday 15 June:

  • 09:00 – 09:45 24 Hours of Le Mans warm-up
  • 10:15 – 11:00 Ferrari Challenge Race
  • 11:30 – 12:25 Road To Le Mans Race
  • 12:25 – 12:25 Le Mans Esports Series
  • 15:00 Start of the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans

Sunday 16 June:

  • 15:00 Finish of the 87th 24 Hours of Le Mans

Useful Links:

To view the full 24 Hours of Le Mans broadcast schedule click HERE.

Provisional grid standings after qualifying:

Le Mans: Kobayashi takes provisional pole for Toyota

IP Geolocation by geoPlugin