Spa WEC: Alonso leads Toyota to victory in snow and rain

alonso toyota winner podium photo

Fernando Alonso, Sébastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima beat the elements today to take their fourth win of the FIA World Endurance Championship Super Season at the Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

The #8 Toyota Gazoo Racing trio claimed a famous win amid a variety of challenging rain and snow showers to close in on the 2018-19 WEC title.

The pole-winning #7 Toyota Gazoo Racing car of Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and José Maria Lopez led comfortably but lost 11 minutes in the pits after sensor problems on their hybrid system.

Taking runner-up position overall was the #3 Rebellion Racing driven by Gustavo Menezes, Thomas Laurent and Nathanael Berthon.

A frantic LMGTE Pro class witnessed a first win of the Super Season for the #97 Aston Martin of Alex Lynn and Maxime Martin.

Porsche were crowned 2018-19 World Endurance GTE Manufacturers Championship champions.

The LMP2 category was won by the #31 DragonSpeed car of Pastor Maldonado, Roberto Gonzalez and Anthony Davidson.

Victory in the LMGTE Am category sees Riccardo Pera, Christian Ried and Matt Campbell take maximum points in #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche after tense battles throughout the race which was red-flagged 11 minutes short of the full six hours.