Photos: Alonso conquers the Rolex 24 at Daytona

Fernando Alonso, Kamui Kobayashi, Jordan Taylor and Zenger van der Zande all played vital roles in taking the #10 Minolta Cadillac to victory at the Rolex 24 ay Daytona on Sunday, however in a team of stars, the Spaniard shone brightest with a mighty performance in all conditions thrown at him.

His night stint during a very wet spell of mayhem is the stuff of legend, Wayne Taylor Racing handing the privilege of the final stint to Alonso with the race delicately poised a tribute to his memorable performance, the #10 car in third began a relentless pursuit of the leader Felipe Nasr which forced an error from the Brazilian.

This allowed the double Formula 1 World Champion to swoop past and go on to win the rain-interrupted 24-hours endurance classic, adding the winners trophy to the one he already has from the Le Mans 24-Hours last year.

The above slideshow is a tribute to Alonso and team chief Wayne Taylor who gave him the ride and made all the right calls throughout an epic race.

Alonso leads Wayne Taylor Racing to victory at Daytona

Alonso: Very proud of what we achieved with Wayne Taylor Racing

Timeline of Alonso’s incredible Daytona race winning stints