Silverstone FP2: Bottas edges Hamilton as Ferrari chase

Valtteri Bottas

Valtteri Bottas edged out Mercedes teammate and local hero Lewis Hamilton in the second free practice session of the British Grand Prix weekend, with Ferrari best of the rest and starting to show their hand, albeit three tenths off the benchmark pace around Silverstone.

Bottas, who is clearly in inspired form since his victory in Austria five days ago, scorched around Silverstone in a best lap time of 1:28.496, which was 0.047 of a second up on Hamilton’s best lap time in the 90 minutes afternoon session.

Thus Bottas topped both sessions on the day, but there is very little separating the Mercedes chaps at the top of the timing screens.

After keeping their powder dry in the morning practice, Ferrari were chasing hard with Kimi Raikkonen third quickest and Sebastian Vettel fourth. But ominously for the Reds they were three tenths down on the Silver Arrows pair.

Fifth and sixth fastest were the Red Bull duo, with Max Verstappen fifth quickest albeit six tenths down on Bottas’ best, followed by Daniel Ricciardo who was a full second down on the top time.

It’s safe to say that the pecking order that has emerged this weekend is: Mercedes ahead of Ferrari, with Red Bull up next.

Nico Hulkenberg posted an impressive seventh fastest time in his Renault, followed by Williams’ Felipe Massa in eighth, Fernando Alonso in the McLaren ninth and Esteban Ocon rounding out the top ten in his Force India.

Report in progress…

British Grand Prix, Silverstone – Free Practice 2, Best Lap Times

1 77 Valtteri Bottas MERCEDES 1:28.496   31
2 44 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES 1:28.543 +0.047s 35
3 7 Kimi Räikkönen FERRARI 1:28.828 +0.332s 36
4 5 Sebastian Vettel FERRARI 1:28.956 +0.460s 36
5 33 Max Verstappen RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 1:29.098 +0.602s 32
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo RED BULL RACING TAG HEUER 1:29.586 +1.090s 35
7 27 Nico Hulkenberg RENAULT 1:29.936 +1.440s 37
8 19 Felipe Massa WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:30.006 +1.510s 36
9 14 Fernando Alonso MCLAREN HONDA 1:30.238 +1.742s 28
10 31 Esteban Ocon FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 1:30.383 +1.887s 42
11 55 Carlos Sainz TORO ROSSO 1:30.555 +2.059s 26
12 26 Daniil Kvyat TORO ROSSO 1:30.562 +2.066s 34
13 11 Sergio Perez FORCE INDIA MERCEDES 1:30.624 +2.128s 43
14 8 Romain Grosjean HAAS FERRARI 1:30.661 +2.165s 33
15 18 Lance Stroll WILLIAMS MERCEDES 1:30.695 +2.199s 37
16 2 Stoffel Vandoorne MCLAREN HONDA 1:30.782 +2.286s 31
17 20 Kevin Magnussen HAAS FERRARI 1:30.835 +2.339s 33
18 30 Jolyon Palmer RENAULT 1:30.879 +2.383s 25
19 9 Marcus Ericsson SAUBER FERRARI 1:31.616 +3.120s 27
20 94 Pascal Wehrlein SAUBER FERRARI 1:31.929 +3.433s 30