FIA logo flags F1

FIA release 21 race Formula 1 calendar for 2018

FIA logo flags F1

The FIA have released the 2018 Formula 1 World Championship calendar, with 21 rounds including the French Grand Prix and the German Grand Prix.

The Chinese Grand Prix and the Singapore Grand Prix are provisional and subject to confirmation by the commercial rights owner. Should Shanghai happen, then it will be  back-to-back with the race weekend in Bahrain.

In June Le Castellet will host the first French Grand Prix since 2008, while the Azerbaijan Grand Prix moves to an April slot. The weekend in France will be the first race of a triple header with the a Austrian Grand Prix a week later and the British Grand Prix a week after that.

Also making a return, after a one year absence, is the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim which will be a back-to-back race weekends with the Hungarian Grand Prix, before the 29 day summer break.

The Belgian Grand Prix will kick off the second half of the season at Spa-Francorchamps, followed a week later by the Italian Grand Prix at Monza.

The Russian Grand Prix, which this year took place in late April, has been shifted to September and will be held a week before the Japanese Grand Prix.

The United States Grand Prix and the Mexican Grand Prix will again be on back-to-back weekends, before the Brazilian Grand Prix two weeks after Mexico and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, on 25 November, once again the season finale.

The Indianapolis 500 and Monaco Grand Prix weekends clash once again, but no grand prix will clash with the Le Mans 24 Hours which is scheduled to take place on 16-17 June, 2018.

The 2018 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar is approved as follows:

125 MarchMelbourneAustralia
28 AprilShanghai*China
315 AprilSakhirBahrain
429 AprilBakuAzerbaijan
513 MayBarcelonaSpain
627 MayMonacoMonaco
710 JuneMontrealCanada
824 JuneLe CastelletFrance
91 JulySpielbergAustria
108 JulySilverstoneGreat Britain
1122 JulyHockenheimGermany
1229 JulyBudapestHungary
1326 AugustSpa-FrancorchampsBelgium
142 SeptemberMonzaItaly
1516 SeptemberSingapore*Singapore
1630 SeptemberSochiRussia
177 OctoberSuzukaJapan
1821 OctoberAustinUSA
1928 OctoberMexico CityMexico
2011 NovemberSao PauloBrazil
2125 NovemberYas MarinaAbu Dhabi

*subject to commercial rights holder confirmation