FIA releases 2017 F1 world championship calendar

Formula One World Championship, Rd 10, German Grand Prix, Practice Day, Nurburgring, Germany, Friday 22 July 2011.

The World Motor Sport Council has issued a final 2017 Formula 1 World Championship calendar that features 20 races, with the German Grand Prix dropped as a deal with Hockenheim or Nurburgring was not forthcoming.

With Germany out of the picture, Hungary has moved back a week, with Austria and Silverstone also moved by a week and will run back to back, which has allowed Baku to move to avoid a clash with Le Mans. Therefore getting to Baku will not involve a challenging journey from Montreal in the space of a few days.

Malaysia will run back-to-back with Japan, while Mexico has been moved back a week so that it runs back-to-back with Austin. China and Bahrain will be also back-to-back race weekends.

The summer break will run between the Hungary and Belgium for almost a full month.

2017 FIA F1 World Championship

26 March Melbourne Australia
9 April Shanghai China
16 April Bahrain Bahrain
30 April Sochi Russia
14 May Barcelona Spain
28 May Monte Carlo Monaco
11 June Montreal Canada
25 June Baku Azerbaijan
9 July Spielberg Austria
16 July Silverstone United Kingdom
30 July Budapest Hungary
27 August Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
3 September Monza Italy
17 September Singapore Singapore
1 October Sepang Malaysia
8 October Suzuka Japan
22 October Austin USA
29 October Mexico City Mexico
12 November Sao Paolo Brazil
26 November Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates