Yas Marina FP3: Vettel fastest as Mercedes wobble


Sebastian Vettel lapped fastest for Ferrari in the final practice session of the Formula One season on Saturday with Mercedes title contenders Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg fourth and fifth.

Vettel, facing a winless year after three victories in 2015, set a quickest lap of one minute 40.775 seconds on the ultrasoft tyres in a hot afternoon session at the Yas Marina circuit.

Dutch teenager Max Verstappen was second fastest for Red Bull, 0.137 slower, with Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen third on the timesheets.

Rosberg leads team mate Hamilton by 12 points going into Sunday’s season-ending showdown, with both on nine race wins, and the German needs only to finish on the podium to secure his first championship.

Hamilton, who was fastest in both Friday practice sessions, has won the last three races but knows the title battle is out of his control.

Both Mercedes drivers set their quickest times earlier in the session than rivals, with the main focus on later qualifying.

Hamilton reported a loss of power early on, a problem Mercedes made light of and described as just an “unexpected de-rate” of the engine.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina Circuit – Saturday, Free Practice 3

15Sebastian VettelFERRARI1:40.77516
233Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER1:40.912+0.137s21
37Kimi RäikkönenFERRARI1:40.999+0.224s14
444Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES1:41.065+0.290s15
56Nico RosbergMERCEDES1:41.168+0.393s19
63Daniel RicciardoRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER1:41.831+1.056s20
711Sergio PerezFORCE INDIA MERCEDES1:41.885+1.110s19
827Nico HulkenbergFORCE INDIA MERCEDES1:42.067+1.292s13
977Valtteri BottasWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:42.076+1.301s19
1021Esteban GutierrezHAAS FERRARI1:42.354+1.579s16
1114Fernando AlonsoMCLAREN HONDA1:42.585+1.810s14
1230Jolyon PalmerRENAULT1:42.616+1.841s18
1322Jenson ButtonMCLAREN HONDA1:42.664+1.889s15
1419Felipe MassaWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:42.683+1.908s20
158Romain GrosjeanHAAS FERRARI1:42.805+2.030s17
1620Kevin MagnussenRENAULT1:43.057+2.282s17
1794Pascal WehrleinMRT MERCEDES1:43.145+2.370s17
1855Carlos SainzTORO ROSSO FERRARI1:43.301+2.526s10
1912Felipe NasrSAUBER FERRARI1:43.417+2.642s22
2031Esteban OconMRT MERCEDES1:43.733+2.958s15
2126Daniil KvyatTORO ROSSO FERRARI1:44.105+3.330s13
229Marcus EricssonSAUBER FERRARI1:44.238+3.463s20