lewis hamilton

Yas Marina FP1: Hamilton from Rosberg stalked by Red Bulls

lewis hamilton

Lewis Hamilton started the decisive Abu Dhabi Grand Prix weekend by claiming top spot on the timing screens, at the end of the first free practice session on Friday, ahead of title rival and Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, who had the Red Bull duo of Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo not far behind.

Despite a spin exiting Turn 5, Hamilton went on to set a best time of 1:42.869 was 0.374 of a second quicker than Rosberg, who was only half a tenth faster than Verstappen and a tenth up on Ricciardo.

Up next, in fifth, was Sebastian Vettel in the Ferrari albeit over a second down on the benchmark time, with teammate Kimi Raikkonen seventh, over a second and a half adrift of Hamilton’s best.

Force India’s Sergio Perez split the reds with the sixth best time of the 90 minutes session.

Carlos Sainz was eighth for Toro Rosso, but his teammate was less fortunate stopping on the side of the track with a puncture, managing only four laps in the session.

Felipe Massa, who also spun in Turn 5, was ninth fastest for Williams, the Brazilian competing in his 250th and last grand prix.

Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson rounded out the top ten, ahead of Force India reserve Alfonso Celis on duty in the place of Nico Hulkenberg.

Britain’s 2009 world champion Jenson Button – also in his last F1 race – was 20th for McLaren after being asked to return to the pits slowly during the session.

Button did only 10 laps, compared to Hamilton’s 28, with mechanics still working on the car through the closing minutes.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Yas Marina Circuit – Friday, Free Practice 1

144Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES1:42.86927
26Nico RosbergMERCEDES1:43.243+0.374s30
333Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER1:43.297+0.428s25
43Daniel RicciardoRED BULL RACING TAG HEUER1:43.362+0.493s26
55Sebastian VettelFERRARI1:44.005+1.136s26
611Sergio PerezFORCE INDIA MERCEDES1:44.155+1.286s22
77Kimi RäikkönenFERRARI1:44.556+1.687s26
855Carlos SainzTORO ROSSO FERRARI1:44.685+1.816s20
919Felipe MassaWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:45.039+2.170s26
109Marcus EricssonSAUBER FERRARI1:45.168+2.299s19
1134Alfonso CelisFORCE INDIA MERCEDES1:45.476+2.607s25
128Romain GrosjeanHAAS FERRARI1:45.600+2.731s13
1312Felipe NasrSAUBER FERRARI1:45.778+2.909s17
1421Esteban GutierrezHAAS FERRARI1:45.925+3.056s19
1577Valtteri BottasWILLIAMS MERCEDES1:45.940+3.071s30
1630Jolyon PalmerRENAULT1:46.219+3.350s32
1720Kevin MagnussenRENAULT1:46.372+3.503s20
1814Fernando AlonsoMCLAREN HONDA1:46.379+3.510s20
1994Pascal WehrleinMRT MERCEDES1:46.458+3.589s28
2022Jenson ButtonMCLAREN HONDA1:47.127+4.258s10
2142Jordan KingMRT MERCEDES1:47.558+4.689s26
2226Daniil KvyatTORO ROSSO FERRARI2:01.989+19.120s4