2016 Formula 1 driver salaries

Fi drivers 2016 money

In the wake of Lewis Hamilton grabbing headlines for being the richest sports person in Britain – for his fortune which is estimated to be around $150 million – we reveal the top earners in Formula 1.

On paper quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel is the highest paid Formula 1 driver in 2016 with a record three year deal with Ferrari worth $150 million, excluding bonuses, which also makes him one of the highest paid sportsman in the world.

Next up is Fernando Alonso who signed record three year deal (2015-2017) with McLaren-Honda and has an annual salary of $40 million per year.

Hamilton has a three year deal with Mercedes worth $31 million a-year guaranteed salary, plus up to $10 million per annum in bonuses making him the third highest paid driver in the sport.

Jenson Button signed a one year extension with McLaren-Honda to remain with the team in 2016. The 2009 world champion is banking around $12 million a year, which is a pay cut compared to 2013 when he was earning $17 million a year.

Runaway championship leader Nico Rosberg, banks $15.5 million per year, which is almost a third less than his Mercedes teammate Hamilton.

Formula 1 2016 drivers contract details:

Driver Team Annual Salary Contract
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari $50 million plus bonuses 3 years (2015-17)
Fernando Alonso McLaren $40 million including bonuses 2 years (2015-17)
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes $31 million plus bonuses 3 years (2015-18
Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari $16 million including bonuses 1 year (2016)
Nico Rosberg Mercedes $15.5 million 3 years (2014-17)
Jenson Button McLaren $13 million 1 year (2016)
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull $6.5 million a year 1 year left (2016)
Nico Hulkenberg Force India $5 million a year 2 years (2016-17)
Romain Grosjean Haas $4.5 million plus bonuses 1 year (2016)
Felipe Massa Williams $4.5 million a year 1 year (2016)
Valtteri Bottas Williams $3.5 million a year 1 year (2016)
Esteban Gutiérrez Haas $2 million 1 year (2016)
Sergio Perez Force India $2 million Multi-year contract
Kevin Magnussen Renault $900,000 1 year (2016)
Jolyon Palmer Renault $900,000 1 year (2016)
Daniil Kvyat Red Bull $850,000 Unspecified
Carlos Sainz, Jr Toro Rosso $650,000 Multi-year contract
Max Verstappen Toro Rosso $650,000 Multi-year contract
Felipe Nasr Sauber $450,000 1 year (2016)
Marcus Ericsson Sauber $450,000 1 year (2016)
Pascal Wehrlein Manor Unknown 1 year (2016)
Rio Haryanto Manor Unknown 1 year (2016)