Ricciardo set to win prestigious Bandini trophy

Lorenzo Bandini
Lorenzo Bandini

Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo is to be the latest winner of the prestigious Trofeo Lorenzo Bandini.

Past winners of the trophy include a roll-call of drivers noted for long and successful grand prix careers, including champions Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel and Lewis Hamilton.

24-year-old Australian Ricciardo, who has given world champion Vettel a hard time after joining Red Bull this year, will receive the prize at the end of August in Brisighella, Italy.

Brisighella is the home town of the late Bandini, who was killed at the age of 31 during the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix. (GMM)

Past winners:

1992 Ivan Capelli
1993Not awarded
1995: for 1994 David Coulthard
1996: for 1995 Jacques Villeneuve
1997: for 1996Luca di Montezemolo
1998: for 1997 Giancarlo Fisichella
1999: for 1998 Alexander Wurz
2000: for 1999 Jarno Trulli
2001: for 2000Jenson Button
2002: for 2001 Juan Pablo Montoya
2003: for 2002 Michael Schumacher
2004: for 2003 Kimi Räikkönen
2005: for 2004 Fernando Alonso
2006: for 2005 Mark Webber
2007: for 2006 Felipe Massa
2008: for 2007 Robert Kubica
2009: for 2008 Sebastian Vettel
2010: for 2009 Lewis Hamilton
2011: for 2010 Nico Rosberg
2012: for 2011 Bruno Senna
2013: for 2012 Piero Ferrari