Shanghai Practice 3: Ricciardo puts Red Bull on top in the wet

Daniel Ricciardo
Daniel Ricciardo

Daniel Ricciardo put Red Bull on top of the timesheets for the first time this season with the fastest time in final practice for the Chinese Grand Prix in a damp session that limited running with neither Mercedes drivers completing a timed lap.

Ricciardo’s one minute 53.958 on intermediate tyres at the Shanghai International Circuit was half a second quicker than Felipe Massa’s Williams with Lotus’s Romain Grosjean third.

Mercedes have won the opening three races of the season in dominant fashion and Saturday’s final practice session is only the third time this season a silver car has not topped the timesheets.


With just two hours between the end of final practice and the start of qualifying, both Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg were content to limit their running to exploratory laps in the tricky conditions.

Sergio Perez
Sergio Perez

Force India’s Nico Hulkenberg set the fourth quickest time ahead of Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen, who emerged late in the session to go fifth.

His team-mate Fernando Alonso, who had topped Friday’s opening session, did not set a time.

Pastor Maldonado was sixth in the Lotus despite being asked by the team to bring his car to a halt with 20 minutes still to run.

Daniil Kvyat was seventh ahead of Valtteri Bottas, with Jenson Button, the sole McLaren to set a time, ninth.

Sergio Perez was 10th in the Force India with world champion Sebastian Vettel 11th after several issues with his car. (Reuters)

Chinese Grand Prix, Free Practice 3 – Saturday, 19 April 2014

13Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault1:53.9585
219Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes1:54.4920.5345
38Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1:54.5140.5564
427Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1:55.0321.0746
57Kimi RäikkönenFerrari1:55.0621.1044
613Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault1:55.2281.27012
726Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault1:55.2351.2777
877Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes1:55.3811.4235
922Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1:55.6731.7154
1011Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes1:56.0192.0616
111Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault1:56.2332.2758
1225Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault1:56.3802.4229
1399Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari1:56.7602.8028
144Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari1:56.8412.88313
1521Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari1:57.4683.5109
1610Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault1:57.8123.85412
1717Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari1:57.9764.01814
189Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault1:59.5075.5496
196Nico RosbergMercedesNo time4
2020Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-MercedesNo time3
2114Fernando AlonsoFerrariNo time1
2244Lewis HamiltonMercedesNo time3