F138 is the name for Ferrari's 2013 car

Ferrari badge. logo

New Ferrari F1 car will be called F138

Ferrari will call its 2013 car ‘F138′, as until now, insiders have referred to the famous Italian team’s next contender as ‘664’ – its working project title.

But following last year’s car F2012, there had been speculation Ferrari would not simply call its successor F2013. The Maranello team, however, explained on Wednesday that the 2013 car is called F138 in deference to the year (’13) and the number of cylinders in the engine (8).

Indeed, 2013 is the final year of F1’s long-standing normally aspirated V8 rules, ahead of the sweeping change to turbo V6s for 2014 and beyond.

Ferrari confirmed that the ‘8’ in the 2013 car’s title is “partly to mark the fact that this will be the last year that the V8 engine configuration will be used” in F1.

F138 will be launched at Maranello on Friday.

Before that, McLaren’s MP4-28 will be unveiled at Woking on Thursday, preceding a flurry of launch activity.

On the same day as Ferrari’s launch, Force India’s VJM06 will be revealed at Silverstone, before Sauber’s C32 is unveiled at Hinwil on Saturday.

The next day, Red Bull’s RB9 will emerge at Milton Keynes, while over at Jerez – ahead of the week’s debut test action – Mercedes will launch the W04.

Then, as the engines begin to fire up at Jerez on Tuesday, Caterham will launch the CT03. Williams’ new FW36 will not be seen until the second test, at Barcelona, while Marussia has not said when its 2013 car will be revealed.

Ferrari F138 statement:

The new Ferrari Formula One car which is being launched the day after tomorrow in a marquee inside the Maranello facility, will be called F138.

The name of the fifty ninth car built by Ferrari to compete at the highest level of motor sport derives from a combination of the current year and the number of cylinders, partly to mark the fact that this will be the last year that the V8 engine configuration will be used in F1, bringing to an end what will be an eight year career.

With its fifty eight previous cars, the Scuderia is the only team to have taken part in every year of the championship and holds all the records in terms of titles won: 31 (15 drivers’ and 16 constructors’) grand prix wins: 219, pole positions: 207 and fastest race laps: 228.

Subbed by AJN.


Content on GrandPrix247.com by: staff & contributors, Reuters syndication, GMM service, Getty Images, Formula 1 teams, sponsors & organisations.