HRT absent from 2013 F1 entry list released by FIA

Pedro De La Rosa (ESP) HRT Formula One Team HRT F112 lines up on the grid. Formula One World Championship, Rd9, British Grand Prix, Race, Silverstone, England, Sunday 8 July 2012. BEST IMAGE

HRT is not on the 2013 F1 entry list

Dec.1 (Reuters) The Formula One grid looks likely to be reduced to 11 teams next season after the official 2013 Formula One World Championship entry list was published by the FIA without strugglers Spanish-based HRT being listed.

Narain Karthikeyan (IND, Carlos Gracia )Spanish Federation President, Vitantonio Liuzzi (ITA) test driver , Luis Pérez Sala, (Team Principal), Saúl Ruiz de Marcos, (CEO), Dani Clos (Test Driver), Salvador Serviá, Catalunya Circuit Director, and Pedro De la Rosa HRT F1 TEAM with the HRT F112 filming day, Montmeló (Spain) monday 5 march 2012

The 22-car list was published on the governing International Automobile Federation’s (FIA) website ( on Saturday after the expiry of a Friday deadline for teams to pay their entry fees.

Under the 2013 sporting regulations, Madrid-based HRT were required to pay entry fees of $ 500 000.

Thesan Capital, the owners of HRT, which has not scored a point in its three year existence, announced last month that the team was up for sale and talks were underway with various groups interested in buying them.

FIA sources indicated that HRT could yet be added to the list if they paid up and Spain’s AS newspaper has reported that HRT has been allowed more time to try and find a buyer.

A team photo for the Hispania Racing F1 Team (HRT) (L to R): Karun Chandhok (IND); Sakon Yamamoto (JPN) Test and Reserve Driver; Jose Ramon Carabante (ESP) Team Owner; Christian Klien (AUT) Test and Reserve Driver; Bruno Senna (BRA). Formula One World Championship, Rd 5, Spanish Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Barcelona, Spain, Saturday 8 May 2010.

The team was founded by Spanish ex-Formula One driver Adrian Campos in 2010, when three new teams were invited to enter the championship, as Campos Meta but the outfit hit immediate financial trouble.

It was renamed Hispania in a rescue operation led by Murcia-based businessman Jose Ramon Carabante and Colin Kolles, a former principal of what is now the Force India team, before being taken over by Thesan, in July last year.

Spanish veteran Pedro De la Rosa and Indian Narain Karthikeyan were the two drivers this year, with the Cosworth-powered team finishing 12th and last overall after beating Marussia in the two previous seasons.

There has been considerable scepticism within the sport about the prospect of any buyer emerging.

(L to R): Anthony Davidson (GBR) Super Aguri F1 Teamand team mate Takuma Sato (JPN) Super Aguri F1 Team at the launch of the Super Aguri F1 SA07. Formula One World Championship, Rd 1, Australian Grand Prix, Preparations, Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia, Wednesday 14 March 2007. DIGITAL IMAGE  BEST IMAGE

“I hope they find a buyer, an investor, and I hope they don’t shut [down]. But clearly there’s a good possibility that they might,” McLaren principal Martin Whitmarsh told reporters in Brazil last weekend.

“I think we’ve got to recognise that after probably the four top teams, all the teams have got really big challenges and costs are escalating.”

Japan’s Super Aguri was the last F1 team to fold, during the 2008 season due to financial problems.

Only five of the teams named their full driver lineup, including Williams who announced only this week that Finland’s Valtteri Bottas would be racing for them next year in place of Brazilian Bruno Senna.

Sauber and Toro Rosso, who have both supposedly finalised their lineups, did not name any drivers.

Subbed by AJN.