F1 commission grants team name changes

Formula 1 logoNov.3 (PVM) The long winded battle regarding the use of the iconic Lotus name in Formula 1 appears to be resolved at the Formula 1 Commission meeting in Geneva where it was decided that from 2012, Team Lotus will be known as Caterham, Renault will become Lotus and Virgin Racing will change to Marussia.

Although yet to be made official, word from meeting insiders is that Tony Fernandes’s owned squad will no longer be known as Team Lotus, instead the F1 team will become Caterham.

While Lotus Renault GP will become Lotus, finally putting an end to the dispute and removing the farsical scenario of two teams being called Lotus Renault on the grid.