Vettel masters Korea, Red Bull win team title

Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing RB7.

Sebastian Vettel took the lead early in the Korean GP and stayed there until the end to notch up his tenth victory of the season

Oct.16 (PVM) Early Report – Exactly a week after being crowned double world champion in Japan, Sebastian Vettel powered to a masterful victory in the Korean Grand Prix at Yeongam and in doing so led his Red Bull Racing team to their second consecutive constructors title.

Race winner  Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing celebrates in parc ferme.

Race winner Sebastian Vettel does the one digit celebration for the tenth time after a grand prix

Vettel hollered into the team radio after crossing the line: “Yes! Yes! Yes! Ten wins my friends!”

The 24 year old German out-wrestled pole sitter Lewis Hamilton on the first lap to take the lead which he never relinquished throughout the afternoon, despite a safety car period to clear up accident debris early on, he crossed the line 12 seconds ahead of next best and thus taking his tenth win of the season and his 20th F1 career victory.

Behind him was an intriguing battle between the best of the rest. Hamilton defended his way to second place in the McLaren after being hounded for most of the race by Red Bull’s Mark Webber. The pair swapped positions on numerous occasions during the course of the race in a fair but hard fought battle.

In the end the McLaren driver had the edge and crossed the line in second place with Webber in his slipstream having to settle for third.

Yeongam parc ferme

Yeongam parc ferme

Not far off the feuding pair was Jenson Button in the McLaren who recovered from a bad start to take fourth, after being stalked in the late stages of the race by Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso who crossed the line in fifth.

Nevertheless, with three races remaining and a maximum 129 points to be won, Red Bull have an insurmountable 140 point lead over McLaren, and it was another day that belonged to the energy drinks outfit as they stamped their authority on the sport in dominant fashion.

Team principal Christian Horner summed up the afternoon: “It was a phenomenal race for us, an exciting race. We had very good pace this afternoon. A second title is testimony to the dedication and commitment of the whole team. We’re going to enjoy this moment – it’s been a phenomenal period for the team, and I’m tremendously proud of all of them. There’s a really special spirit here which is unrivalled down the pit lane.”

Sunday, 16 October – Race Result

Pos No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Pts
1 1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 55 Winner 2 25
2 3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 55 +12.0 secs 1 18
3 2 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 55 +12.4 secs 4 15
4 4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 55 +14.6 secs 3 12
5 5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 55 +15.6 secs 6 10
6 6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 55 +25.1 secs 5 8
7 19 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 55 +49.5 secs 11 6
8 8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 55 +54.0 secs 7 4
9 18 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 55 +62.7 secs 13 2
10 15 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 55 +68.6 secs 9 1
11 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 55 +71.2 secs 10
12 11 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 55 +93.0 secs 18
13 9 Bruno Senna Renault 54 +1 Lap 15
14 20 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Renault 54 +1 Lap 19
15 16 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 54 +1 Lap 14
16 17 Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 54 +1 Lap 17
17 21 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Renault 54 +1 Lap 20
18 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 54 +1 Lap 21
19 22 Daniel Ricciardo HRT-Cosworth 54 +1 Lap 24
20 25 Jerome d’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth 54 +1 Lap 22
21 23 Vitantonio Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth 52 +3 Laps 23
Ret 12 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Cosworth 30 +25 Laps 16
Ret 10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 16 Accident 8
Ret 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 15 Accident 12