Webber awarded Hawthorn trophy

Mark Webberreceives the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

Mark Webberreceives the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy from Alan Gow

Jul.12 (Red Bull) It wasn’t just a podium achieved by Mark Webber at Silverstone – he was also awarded the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy.

The honour is presented to the most successful British or Commonwealth F1 driver, and Mark received it in recognition of his stunning performance in the 2010 season.

He was presented with the trophy by Alan Gow, Chairman of the Motor Sports Association after Qualifying on Saturday.

He’s the first Australian since Alan Jones received it in 1981, and the first non-Brit to take hold or the trophy since Jacques Villeneuve in 1997.

A total of 19 drivers have won the Hawthorn Trophy and it has been awarded to the World Champion on 18 occasions, Nigel Mansell still holds the record of seven successes, with Mark’s former team-mateDavid Coulthard on five.

The trophy itself is named after the British driver Mike Hawthorn who competed in F1 between 1952-1958, winning the championship in his final year for Ferrari.

  • Ronman

    More like the Thorn in Red Bull’s backside trophy :P…Well done Webbo…the excavator…