Hamilton committed long term to McLaren

Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren with the media. Formula One World Championship, Rd 19, Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, UAE, Saturday 13 November 2010.

Lewis Hamilton

Nov.15 (GMM) After a double championship defeat to Red Bull and Sebastian Vettel in 2010, Lewis Hamilton insists he is not tempted to switch to the energy drink-owned team and is committed to mcLaren for the long term.

“There is not one bit of me that feels I will ever want to drive for Red Bull,” the Briton is quoted by the Mirror as saying in Abu Dhabi.

“It doesn’t have the character, the history or the appeal to me that McLaren has,” added the 2008 world champion.

Hamilton, 25, finished the 2010 standings in fourth place, behind both Red Bulls and also his former McLaren teammate Fernando Alonso, who now drives for Ferrari.

But he insists that McLaren is his team of choice.

“My hero Ayrton Senna drove for this team and I have always wanted to,” he said. “Red Bull have done a fantastic job and huge congratulations to them for winning the constructors’ championship.”

“Of course, I want my car to be as good as that. I could be here for the next 10 years in this team,” added Hamilton. “I believe they have got the most potential out of everyone.”

  • Pit Rat

    and in a weird way, he’s right, McLaren have been on the Top when Ferrari were at the rear.. they have been the most consistent performers for the past 2 decades…

  • nickname

    Ok so a return of just 3 WDCs in 20 years qualifies them as “one of the most consistant performers” LOL, which universe do u live in?

  • http://www.yallaf1.com/ Editor

    1990 to 2010 WDC
    Ferrari = 6
    McLaren = 5
    Williams = 4
    Renault = 2
    Benetton = 2
    Brawn GP = 1
    Red Bull = 1

  • Arthur

    Pit Rat, I thought you are one of those F1 genius. If we talk about consistency for the past two decades, try to check the constructor’s championship. If Ferrari doesn’t win the driver’s championship they would almost always win the Constructor’s.

    1999 and 2008!