Ron Dennis honoured with Autosport Award

Ron Dennis

McLaren Group chairman Ron Dennis was honoured with a lifetime achievement award at the prestigious Autosport Awards in London last night.

Ron was given a special Gregor Grant Trophy – named after the founding editor of the famous motorsport weekly – in recognition of his lifetime commitment to motorsport.

After successfully building up the McLaren marque over the past three decades, particular attention was paid last night to Ron’s outstanding work with a league of world champions – such as Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton – many of whom achieved their greatest successes under Ron’s stewardship.

He said: “The statistic that most neatly encapsulates our determination to win is the fact that, since the beginning of McLaren in 1966, we have won one in every four grands prix. That’s a lot of time, a lot of race wins; it spans a host of designs, a whole range of drivers and some great management.”

While Ron stressed that his career was far from over, the award had a special resonance as he has now taken a backseat from his Formula 1 duties in order to fully engage with the tremendous task of financing, manufacturing and growing the McLaren brand of road cars.

“I am still very much a part of McLaren,” he added. “Martin [Whitmarsh] now has responsibility for the grand prix effort And when he puts forward his recommendations, it is a pleasure to support them. However, my career is most definitely not over.”